Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Greater participation and inclusivity, as well as recognising the value of diversity, lead to fairer opportunities to fulfil everybody's potential.

Group photo of MORU members © Photo by Gerhard Jørén

Equality is about creating a fairer society with greater participation, inclusivity and the opportunities to fulfil potential; diversity is about recognising individual and group differences, treating people as individuals and placing positive value on diversity.

The Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Committee (EDIC) is an advisory committee established in consultation with the Nuffield Department of Medicine (NDM), University of Oxford, Athena Swan Committee and the Mahidol Oxford Tropical Medicine Research Unit (MORU).


  • To identify MORU’s equity, diversity and inclusion (EDI) priorities and objectives and review progress.
  • To propose the development and implementation of equal and equitable opportunities initiatives and activities for staff, students in order to help progress and meet our EDI priorities and objectives.
  • To review the impact of policies, procedures and processes on equity and equity of opportunities and outcomes, identify where we are falling short of meeting our targets or best practice standards and recommend relevant actions.
  • To promote the involvement of a diverse range of staff and students in MORU life to foster cohesion, cooperation and eliminate discrimination.
  • To encourage staff and student EDI networks across the Oxford Tropical Network (OTN) and hear regularly from representatives on collective views and progress on their actions.

Contact us: and

MORU Equity, Diversity and Inclusion committee members


Dr Elizabeth Batty

Elizabeth Batty

Dr Andrea Ruecker

 Andrea Ruecker

Richard Hoglund - Head of Pharmacometrics

Richard Hoglund

MBChB BSc DTM&H DPhil MD FRGS FRCP FRSPH Richard Maude - Professor of Tropical Medicine

Richard Maude

Thomas Peto

Tom Peto

Head shot picture of Nan Shwe

Nan Shwe Nwe Htun

Palang Chotsiri - Senior Scientist, Clinical Pharmacology

Palang Chotsiri

Wirichada Pan-ngum (Pan)

Wirichada Pan-ngum

Pattira Intanil (Kai)

Pattira Intanil