Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

MORU team

University of Oxford Nuffield Department of Medicine Head: Prof Richard Cornall

Mahidol University Faculty of Tropical Medicine Dean: Weerapong Phumratanaprapin

Wellcome Trust / Oxford Asia Research Units Chairman: Nicholas White

Wellcome Trust Director: Jeremy Farrar

MORU Director: Nicholas Day

MORU Deputy Director: Arjen Dondorp

Health & Safety USO: Stuart Blacksell

Health & Safety CSO: Wirongrong Chierakul (MORU staff with position within FTM)

Compliance & Quality Assurance: Eoin Mac Hale

Clinical Trials Support Group Head: Tanya Cope

Statistics Head: Mavuto Mukaka

Data Management Head: Naomi Waithira

Medicine Quality Research Group: Paul Newton

Bioethics & Engagement: Phaik Yeong Cheah

MORU (Bangkok, Thailand): Nicholas Day

SMRU (Maesot, Thailand) Director: François Nosten

LOMWRU (Laos) Director: Liz Ashley

COMRU (Cambodia) Director: Paul Turner

MOCRU (Myanmar)Director: Frank Smithuis

Kinshasa KIMORU study site Director: Caterina Fanello

Kinshasa KIMORU study site Clinical Director: Marie Onyamboko

Operations & Administration 

COO: David Burton

HR & Administration: Kanchana Pongsaswat

Media & Communications: John Bleho

Logistics & Purchasing: Pornjarus Sukhapiwat

Training: Gaye Proctor

Head of IT: Dean Sherwood

Operations Officer: TBC

Finance CFO: TBC

Fundraising /Grant Management: Dave Gandy

Postgraduate Studies: Leigh Jones

Malaria & Critical Illness Arjen Dondorp

Malaria Lab: Kesinee Chotivanich (MORU staff with position within FTM)

Molecular Malaria Lab: Mallika Imwong (MORU staff with position within FTM)

ICU Clinical Team

Microbiology Direk Limmathurotsakul (MORU staff with position within FTM)

Core Operations: Vanaporn Wuthiekanun

Molecular Microbiology: Liz Batty Janjira Thaipadungpanit (MORU staff with position within FTM)

Immunology: Susanna Dunachie

Cell Biology: Jeanne Salje

Serology/Safety/PACS: Stuart Blacksell

Chiangrai Clinical Research Unit: Carlo Perrone

Bangkok AMR-DRI/Sepsis

Ubon Ratchathani AMR-DRI Group Sepsis Group

Mo Yin Modelling Group

Melioidosis Prevention Group

Melioidosis Genomics: Claire Chewapreecha, Head

Clinical Pharmacology Joel Tarning

Pharmacometrics: Richard Hoglund

Routine Laboratory Manager: Urairat Koesukwiwat

Mathematical and Economics Modeling Wirichada Pan-ngum (MORU staff with position within FTM)

Neglected Tropical Diseases Modeling: Wirichada Pan-ngum (MORU staff with position within FTM)

Bacterial Resistance Analysis Group: Ben Cooper

Economic & Implementation Research Group: Yoel Lubell

Analytical Tools for Malaria Elimination Group: Ricardo Aguas

Epidemiology Richard Maude

Clinical Therapeutics Unit (CTU) Nicholas White Sasithon Purkritayakamee (MORU staff with position within FTM)

IDDO/WWARN Mehul Dhorda

SML & EQA Coordinator: Ranitha Vongpromek

Lab Manager: Cholrawee Promnarate